Kabaddi World Cup 2007

2007 Kabaddi World Cup was played in India. Host India won the world cup by beating Iran in the finals by 29 – 19. Total of 14 teams took part in this competition out of which 11 were Asian.

Mumbai, Jan 26. Asian Games champion India quelled the threat of Iran 29-19 to win the second Kabaddi World Cup.

Determined to maintain their supremacy, India raised their game in the second half to get past previous edition runner-up in a hard-fought encounter.

India got off to a bright start to get an early 9-0 lead but the Iranians came back strongly to narrow the gap to 12-13 and trail just by one point at half-time.

The crucial moment came early in the second half when Manpreet Singh with an effective raid, helped India not only record their second lona but also secure a modicum of control by gaining a handy 23-13 lead.

Iran, missing the services of injured star raider Aref Mojerdi, strived hard and were impressive in their defense but their efforts were not enough to upset the pre-match predictions.

Being made to work extremely hard for the title, India received a cash purse of Rs 2.5 lakh on the concluding day of the three-day event, organised by the Karnala Sports Academy.

Second-placed Iran went home richer by Rs 1.5 lakh.

Japan’s Kazu Hiro Takaro was adjudged the Man of the Tournament while Manpreet Singh (India) and Kiyanoush Naderian (Iran) were declared Man of the Final and Best Catcher respectively.

Knockout Stage 

25 January
26 January
25 January
26 January
25 January
26 January
25 January
 Sri Lanka20
2007 Kabaddi World Cup
1st Runner-upChampions2nd Runner-up


2nd Title