PKL 8: U Mumba sign former player as coach

U Mumba has roped in their former player Rajaguru Subramanian as the new head coach for the upcoming PKL 8. Subramanian has replaced former Arjuna award-winning coach Sanjeev Baliyan, as the latter had already signed with Jaipur Pink Panthers as their new mentor.

Rajaguru Subramanian has been a part of U Mumba since PKL 6 as a player for the side. He played 13 matches for the side and scored 12 tackle points in the last two seasons. However, his immense experience in PKL and international Kabaddi for India has earned him a contract as the head coach for U Mumba this year.

The Karnataka-based Rajaguru Subramanian has immense experience under his belt when it comes to playing the sport. The 34-year-old made his debut for the gold-winning Junior Indian team in the 2005 Asian Junior Kabaddi Championship. He also was a part of bronze-winning India at the 2012 Beach Asian Games.

His major accomplishment came in Incheon, where he played a significant role in winning gold at the 2014 Asian Games for the Indian Kabaddi team. He captained Telugu Titans in the inaugural season of the PKL and has over 50 tackle points to his name.

U Mumba has named Fazel Atrachali, Abhishek Singh, Ajinkya Kapare, and Harendra Kumar in their Elite Retained Players (ERP) list for Season 8, with Navneet as the existing NYP. As these players have played with Rajaguru Subramanian before, it will be intriguing to see how U Mumba will shape their squad in PKL 2021 Auction.

Pro Kabaddi 2021: All Team Retain Players Full List